Recent Polls
How did you hear about us ?
  •  Search engines
  •  From another website
  •  From Linkedin
  •  From Facebook
  •  From Twitter
  •  From a friend
  •  Other

What do you like about our website ?
  •  It contains the information I need.
  •  Information is comprehensive.
  •  Information is interesting.
  •  Information is easy to find.
  •  Graphic design is attractive.

What is Halal

Halal is that which is allowed, permitted or lawful according to the Qur’an. To the wider world, halal is commonly associated with the preparation of food. But it is more than that an aspect of Islamic law that wide range of goods and services.

 Halal refers to anything that is considered permissible and lawful in the religion (this means that it has been approved by Allah). “Halal” includes the respective product being produced according to religious rituals, it refers to purity and cleanliness, and thus the product is tahir.

 Haram is what is forbidden, meaning everything Allah has strictly forbidden.

 Makruh describes what is disliked, something that Allah disapproves of although not completely. The trend is towards haram.

Various sources including Quran (religious text of Islam), Sunnah (practices of the Prophet Muhammad  may the mercy and blessings of God be upon him), Al-Ijma (the consensus) and Al-Qiyas (process of deductive analogy) are available for the determination on how a certain food product shall be classified.


The most important aspects to be observed in the production of halal food are :

» Exclusive use of hahal raw materials and halal ingredients. This consideration also includes the production conditions (e.g. meat from animals slaughtered according to the basic law of shechita).

» No substance or equipment shall be used that is najis (ritually unclean).

» Prior to the start of production, the equipment and other tools must not be najis and therefore they have to undergo purification to bring them to a ritually clean condition.

» During the entire production process, no contamination with substances/objects is allowed that are haram or najis.

Certification bodies and certification companies can confirm that a company has available and adheres to the conditions needed for halal production.

While many things are clearly halal or haram, there are some things which are not clear. Further information is needed to categorize them as halal or haram. Such items are often referred to as mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable.

Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavors are questionable (mashbooh).